Jockey shift questions.

PAhunter

Complete Noob
Reaction score
I am sure someone on the board here must have tried this one at some point or another.
In my case its more out of neccessity than just the cool factor. Whatever I do though has to look cool or I have to find a way to make it look cool.

Because of problems with my left hand its pretty hard/near impossible for me to use a standard clutch.

So here was how I intended to solve the problems and lay out the controls.

For braking I was looking at a proportional valve or progressive braking system both tied into the same pedal for front and rear.That would be right side.

Pennsylvania requires both a front and rear brake.

For clutch I was going to go with a foot operated cable clutch on the left side.

Throttle as standard though with the bars I am going to use I was going to go with an internal cable. With no clutch lever on the bars I may as well hide the throttle cable for a cleaner look.

Jockey shift or suicide shift whatever you like to call it on left side but has to be something I can push forward and pull back more with my palm rather than wrapping fingers around it.

MY ATV does not have a clutch so its not a problem and this problem has never come up before on any bike I have ever owned. Unfortunatley I am at a stage of I have to accept limited use of my left hand and make the best of it.

I would love to have used a rear drum hub but that alone I think would not have been enough brakes.What with PA's requirement for front and rear brake and wanting wire wheels I am going to go with I believe a Suzuki rear wheel and disc setup. At least thats what the chap who is doing my frame and helping me with other things has said.

Thats really my most important issue at the moment as he wants to have a wheel he can measure up and know the exact axle size so he can get the frame done.

Its probably going to mean going with a custom made sprocket but thats something I can live with.