Harbor Freight TIG welders

for 349 I'd give the bigger machine a shot...miller or lincoln want 3-4 times that much. the 199 machine would great for the practice before dropping bigger coin.

the 199 machine would great for the practice before dropping bigger coin.

Maybe... It might just work like shit and piss you off. I guess that's why he's looking for reviews. :shrug:

I've read that Harbor Freight has a pretty good return policy.. I don't know the policy on returning used welders, but you might be able to buy it, and if you don't like it, return it. I would definitely ask about the return policy before you buy though.

thanx guys. I have a miller 180, but would like to do some tigging. I know how to tig. i have a degree from clover park, so, learning isnt the issue. looking for bang for buck. think I'll pass any ways. I read a review that says it doesnt come with a power cord.no biggie to me, since Ive re-wired my 180 twice due to different configuartions of dryeer outlet in two houses ive lived in. Also the reveiws said the arc is unstable. reveiwer claimed to be a degreed welder as well.

I have a general question about welders since you guys know what your talking about.
I have a miller 130xp 120v mig welder I tried welding some pipe and metal together and it just spits spatters and makes a mess. its ok for tacking things but other then that I don't know... I got to use some real welders a industrial mig and tig at a friends machine shop and WOW its like night and day. They make it so simple both welders using argon
Mine has a Argon hook up and I have a tank but I need to buy the regular wire for the unit and try it out but heres my question
is 120v really enough? how good are these 240 units mig and tig? could I do all the frame welds with a ok 240v tig?
the welders I used were all 3 phase