Condenser problems

Prospect

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey

I'm brand new to the fourm! Lot's of great info here.

I've had my xs650 for about a day now and took it for it's first rip around the neighborhood. I've been involved with old hondas for a while but this is a new bike to me. The bike has been sitting for 2 years but fired right up and ran very well for about 20 minutes. I took it up to 50 mph and the she started sputtering. I thought it might be fuel delivery but it seemed OK. The left exhaust was very cool meaning she is only running on the right. Now she is running at all rmp ranges on just one cylinder. I'm suspecting it's a condenser that's slowly going as I've had the exact same problem on my cb350 twin. My question is can I use a cb350 condenser on the xs as I don't have an xs condenser here and I wanna ride a bit more tomorrow?

Try switching the condenser leads and see if the problem changes sides. The 650 has 2 condensers in a 2-pack mounted on the inner side of the top left motor mount. There are 2 black wires coming out of the pack, one from each condenser. They go to the orange and gray double connectors which run to the coils.

Check your battery voltage see if it's charging, often the first you know of a charging problem is one cylinder starting to cut out. Should show near 14 volts at 3000 RPM Electrical gremlins are waiting for you on any old bike.

gggGary

I charged the battery overnight with my trusty battery tender. Showing a volatage of 12.9 at the battery. When I start the bike it drops a bit to 12.4 and when I rev it at 3000 rpm it shows 13.1 so the charging system is weak as you mentioned. I took the bike for a 20 minute ride and it was running perfectly as usual. I was probably draining the battery but it held up. I checked it when I got home and it was 12.4 with the engine off. So it drained a bit confirming a weak charging system.