Top End Rebuild

jdm9123

78 xs650SE
Reaction score
Hey fellas. So I noticed I had a pretty bad seeping head gasket so I dropped the motor today and tore down the top end to see what was up. I have a lot of carbon build up on the tops of the pistons and the valves. The cylinders themselves don't look bad. Besides the gasket being bad and seeping oil into the combustion chamber what are some other symptoms of this bad build up? The motor ran pretty well but it would spit out black smoke from time to time and the left cylinder was always running lean and popping around 3500 RPM's. Could the valves also not be seating properly or the rings bad? Any thoughts would help me out...here are a few photos to help with your diagnosis.

DSCN1293.jpg

DSCN1290.jpg

DSCN1291.jpg

DSCN1289.jpg

DSCN1292.jpg

I'm no expert, but the sides of the pistons look like they've gotten a lot of combustion past the rings. At minimum while you have it apart you should hone and replace the rings.

That being said, unless you're doing it yourself, the cost of honing 2 cylinders isn't much less than boring/honing 2 cylinders. So for the additional cost of 2 pistons and the bore/hone vs hone, you could have a completely fresh top end. Probably $150 extra vs new rings ($60) and honing ($60 total?). So $120 for new rings and honing vs $270 for new pistons/rings/bore/hone.

Might want to measure the cylinder walls to see if they're in spec or not, but again, to measure them properly you're likely paying a machine shop to run their gauges down the cylinder to ensure it's consistent etc., and the cost of that is probably not much less than just having them bore it out 0.5mm to get a nice fresh cylinder.

Not sure what else you have into the bike and if it's worth spending money on the engine. Of course you'll also want to do a valve job while you're at it and put fresh seals on, check the guides etc.