Where/How did you first learn to work on your bike?

Sidewalks

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm completely new to XS650.com and completely new to motorcycles. I've had a keen interest in XS650s and learning the mechanics for years now and I finally took the plunge and got my liscense and took riding classes.

I look in this forum and almost all the topics are about very specific problems using lingo that I have yet to learn and I was wondering how did you learn what you now know about the workings of a motorcycle? My goal is to be able to self-service it and fix easy problems and be able to identify complications when it arises.

Are there books in the library to take out? Websites with diagrams that breaks it down so a complete newbie can understand?

Thanks for all your time and bear with me!

First let me say welcome to our little slice of the XS650 world.
Some of us have been spinning wrenches for a long time. On many things. I started with bicycles in the mid 60's, now almost 50 years later I can't say for sure who taught me what.
Most things with fuel operated engines have simular lingo. Most engines have pistons, cams, cranks. Just to name a few parts.
The repair manuals are a good place to start learning. A lot of the places online that sell parts Like yamaha-motor.com have parts breakdowns on the bikes. This can help identify and name parts.
Just reading through the old posts can help.
Up at the top of the page, click on 650 Tech, this leads to a list of topics. Reading these will help you get a start on the lingo and the basics of the machine and how to maintain it.
Leo

It's all on the web. The internet has transformed vehicle repair, maintenance, and modification.

More particularly, this site is FrEAKING AWESOME! Couldnt do it without XS650.com.