Rpm's hover, but not finding air leak.

filthyhuns

filthy huns
Reaction score
hey xs folks.
first of all i'm a mega novice, but i did just finish a top end rebuild of my 77 xs. got the jugs bored out, and got a new 1 over piston and ring sets. got the motor back in the frame, and she started right up. but after a few minutes the rpms "hover" after i let off the throttle. i know this is a classic air leak on the intake boots, but i've sprayed carb cleaner and wd40 all over the manifolds before and after the carbs, and they're is no change whatsoever in the rpms. after a little bit longer the rpms won't go down at all unless i put on the choke for a second. i've cleaned the carbs twice now and have noticed nothing new. no stumbles while rolling thru the throttle at all. the plugs are show slight signs of being lean, but not crazy gray/white. some oil toward the outside with the electrode tip a little gray. the mixture screws are 2 rotations out. the same that they were before the rebuild. any ideas? really appreciate any help.

I used to have this problem. I set the tension on the timing chain then set the valves then syncd the carbs and it went away

As others have already mentioned, its important to have both carbs sychronized.

As part of that, you want to be sure that both carb butterflys will close fully. When they close fully, the butterfly will fully cover the 3 bypass holes in the top of the carb throat.

When I have my carbs removed from the bike and sitting on the bench, this is what I do.
Cut a piece of paper about 1/2" wide by 3" long, to use as a feeler gauge. Use the throttle speed screw to adjust the left butterfly for a small amount of drag on the piece of paper. Then use the sync screw to adjust the right butterfly for the same amount of drag. If you can't achieve that, then the butterflys may not be centred in the carb bores, which would require you to loosen the butterfly screws so that the butterflys can centre themselves in the crab bores.