Stock Brake Upgrade from Ducati

TheFlyingKuz

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Being a complete newb at this I have a questions about brake upgrades... My rear brake seized on me while riding last week and I am curious about either rebuilding my rear brake system or upgrading the whole thing. If I were to ebay some duel front calipers off of a ducati could I use one caliper on the front and one on the back? (with some modifications of course) I am currently setup with mag wheels and a single caliper/rotor on the front and the rear.

I would start by just removing the rear caliper, taking it apart and cleaning it very well. If you find a rusty piston I would replace that but if it's ok just reassemble with the parts you have. Be sure to get the groove the oring goes in clean. Any crud in there can push the oring against the piston hard enough to bind the piston.
I might do the same with the master cylinder.
Tear it down clean and inspect the parts.
Rebuild kits can be gotten if you find bad parts in either the caliper or master cylionder. The disc rear brake on mine works very well. I see no need to upgrade that.
On the front brake, up grades there can be a good thing. Lighter disc and caliupers can greatly effect handling as well as get better braking.
Leo

A six piston Brembo would be massive overkill on the rear and extremely difficult to keep from locking up. On the front, even with a single disc setup, with the right master, all the brake you will ever be able to use.

Pandemonium Choppers makes a kit to install a Brembo caliper on the stock front forks. I have one on my build, Dan even sold me a used caliper at a good price ($75). The kit will require some minor filing to fit and you will also have to ensure proper caliper centering over your disc. Also consider upgrading to a full floating front rotor, such as one made by EBC