Voltage Regulator?

Ben Mccree

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
It's all stripped down now, apart for the engine which I'll do in the next few weeks. The only problem so far is that someone in the past has cross threaded the fork top bolt so much so that they had lowered the fork stanchion in the top yoke so that the bolt head seated on the yoke.
Any idea what thread it is? Also has anyone bought after market stanchions and are they more or less identical to the originals?

Also there seems to be two voltage rectifiers. My book shows the one with the coil underneath, but not the one below as in my picture. You guys might identify it straight away so I won't explain the wiring of it just yet.

Thanks for your help. Ben

Attachments

• Christmas and Voltage regulator 003.jpg
    Christmas and Voltage regulator 003.jpg
    138.5 KB · Views: 1,685
I think the bottom one is the safety relay that will not allow you to use the starter when the bike is already running. I'm no expert on the early XS machines though so I hope someone else will come along to verify.

- you have an xs2 no?
- if so i too think that should be the safety relay...is it cabled so earth, brown, blue-white, yellow?
- i will measure the thread in the fork stanchion when it stops raining
- heiden engineering in holland sells replacement 34mm tubes for these #27-2002 27-2002-xs2 fork tube set

Cheers Bud. Cabling is two browns, one to top soldering point on starter solenoid, two is fed from ignition switch in red and white and enroute feeds the coils. Three is black, earth and four is yellow that seems to go to the alternator. I will have a look at Heiden. Are they good to deal with. Ben

- you can remove it but it requires some playing with the wiring-its switched through the decompression lever and cuts the current to the starter off when the alternator begins to produce voltage...if its working and doesnt disturb you it can be left