'83 XS650 Bobber: Rat's nest

retroLS1

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hi all,

Newbie here to the forum and in regards to XS650's. Been doing a lot of reading on them in the past few weeks and picked up a project bike this morning. It's an '83 XS650 Heritage that has already most of the "main" stuff done to it - hard tail, Sportser tank, etc. Pretty typical XS bobber but I will change it up to give it my own flavor.

I bought it knowing it wasn't running. Guy said it has a starter on it but isn't working so it's kick only. He said if he could get it to start at all it would run for a few seconds and then sputter out. It needed a new battery so I bought one along with some new plugs.

Got it home and gave it a good looking over to check for anything obvious. Got some gas in the tank and gave it some kicks. Never got it to start, seemed to just sputter. Was not getting any spark I am pretty sure. The PO installed an ignition switch under the seat similar to a car where it could be clicked backwards into an "accessory" mode, or forward to "ON" and then crank forward to start the bike. Since the starter isn't working, I couldn't really try it out. I had it in "on" (at least I believe, no labeling on it) the whole time and wasn't getting anything. Tried in all the positions and same thing. It does have the off/run/off main control switches with the throttle on the handlebars, but they are not connected to anything (plug was just down and hanging).

The PO put some generic XS pod filters on it that I took off (they were the pleated type, I will get Uni pods). Had a custom exhaust that kicked up by the rear wheel. He said it was never jetted but did have new jets for it that I can put in. The carbs are clean internally, but are pretty rough on the outside.

Pic of the bike after we got it home and popped the filters off: