steveair2's '78 XS Chopped Hard Build

Steveair2

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hello Group,

My name's Steve Stephenson. I live in Dallas Texas. I've been collecting parts for a few years now. I started this build a few weeks ago. I decided to document my progress here.
I have a Elswick hard tail and a four inch under DNA front end. After all the cutting and grinding, I think I should have just built the frame from scratch.

Attachments

• bike1.jpg
    bike1.jpg
    60.7 KB · Views: 407
  • bike2.jpg
    bike2.jpg
    67.1 KB · Views: 405
  • bike3.jpg
    bike3.jpg
    62.9 KB · Views: 447
  • DSC00749.jpg
    DSC00749.jpg
    305.6 KB · Views: 340
  • DSC00750.jpg
    DSC00750.jpg
    315.2 KB · Views: 362
Last edited:
Today I cleaned up the neck and am fitting tubes to the backbone and down tubes.
I bought some 4130 tubing I'll use the graft the neck back on with.
The tubing in the picture is 1.75x.120. It's a tight fit onto the back bone.
I have some 1.5x.083 I'll use that will slide over the down tubes.
I wonder how many beers it's gonna take to get this bike built?

Attachments

• m1.jpg
    m1.jpg
    107.9 KB · Views: 334
  • m2.jpg
    m2.jpg
    54.9 KB · Views: 345
Today I finished trimming the backbone and down tubes to fit the extension tubes.
I cut 3/8" off the bottom of the neck, and installed bearing races.
Then I finished cutting off all the unnecessary crap off the Cole Foster tank.
Man, they can put a lot of unnecessary crap on a motorcycle, can't they?

Attachments

• m3.jpg
    m3.jpg
    93.1 KB · Views: 308
  • m4.jpg
    m4.jpg
    110.9 KB · Views: 299
  • m5.jpg
    m5.jpg
    96.7 KB · Views: 289
  • m6.jpg
    m6.jpg
    64 KB · Views: 332
I'm using some electrical conduit to mock up my front end.

Attachments

• m7.jpg
    m7.jpg
    117.3 KB · Views: 338
  • m8.jpg
    m8.jpg
    116.5 KB · Views: 325
Thanks Black, I live near Peavy and Garland Rd. in the Casa Linda area.
If your in the area, swing by and have a cold beer.