calling all engine guys...

tking308

XS650 Member
Reaction score
First let me say hello, my name is Todd, I live in western KY. I'm new to this site and as you are all about to find out, I'm no mechanic. That being said, I know I can do this. After much searching for a xs650, I finally found one about 350 miles away. I didn't ask enough questions but figure I will have a great knowledge of this bike when I'm done. The entire top end of the engine has been disassembled. Here's my question. I can see small amounts of debris in the bottom end. Remnants of gaskets, grass, generally small soft stuff. I don't want to put this thing back together without cleaning it out but I also don't want to take any apart any further if it can be avoided. What should I do, please don't say take it to a mechanic. I'm trying to keep this budget friendly.
The first "part" I ordered was a Haynes manual.

Attachments

• project1.jpg
    project1.jpg
    64.2 KB · Views: 2,079
  • project2.jpg
    project2.jpg
    49.4 KB · Views: 1,844
  • project3.jpg
    project3.jpg
    57.8 KB · Views: 1,717
  • project4.jpg
    project4.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 1,669
  • project5.jpg
    project5.jpg
    50.1 KB · Views: 1,652
Welcome to the site Todd. Looks like you have yourself a project there! I’m not an engine expert by any means, but I would finish scraping off that base gasket, then take the right side engine cover off as well as the little cover on the left covering the starter gears, and pull the sump filter out. Taking these covers off will allow you to flush out the motor and have fewer places for crap to get stuck. Some people might call me crazy but I would flush it out with lots of water using a hose. Then immediately flush it out again with a gallon or so of parts cleaner, followed by some oil to coat everything. After you get it all back together and running for awhile, change the oil again.