1971 wiring diagram from scratch

pkaczmar

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone.
Recently bought a 1971 XS.
This thing has been a racer for quite some time and has the bare minimum for electrical. no lights no ignition etc.... therefore i get to start from scratch. I'm looking to keep this thing Cafe style as it already has the tank and handle bars for it. Looking for a wiring diagram that includes headlight, taillight, signals and sticks with the kickstart but ads a turn key for power.
I know there are a number of diagrams but I can't sam to find exactly what i need or simply searching incorrectly.
I am a complete newb with electrical, would appreciate any help on the diagram.
And potentially some direction for parts?
Thanks

Welcome to the forum, pkaczmar.
To get you started, here's the wiring diagrams for the 1971 XS1B:

XS1B-Wiring.jpg

View attachment 22978

Thanks so much.
But as mentioned there is nothing left from the original wiring. I'm just looking for a simplified diagram that will work with the 1971, utilizing a kickstart.

Thanks so much.
But as mentioned there is nothing left from the original wiring. I'm just looking for a simplified diagram that will work with the 1971, utilizing a kickstart.

Hi pkaczmar and welcome.
FYI, that IS the simplified diagram, there's not one wire on it that the bike don't need.
If you think it's complicated, well, compared to the total of 7 wires (OK, 10 if you want signals) that work my BSA, it is.
Compared to my XS650 Heritage Special's 2-page electrical diagram and wrist-thick wiring loom, it's dead simple.
You say the bike needs ignition wiring? What's it got for sparks right now?
You could do worse than put your parts shopping list in this list's parts wanted forum.

Last edited:
Whoa
i guess to a beginner at first glance this is rather overwhelming. But if you break it down I suppose it's not that bad and things such as neutral indicator turn signal indicator etc... you can easily cut out.