1973 TX650 Starter Replacement

Ziplockbaggie

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I've been tinkering with a 1973 TX650 that Dad bought new for several years now. Ditched the points, repaired things that were broken, and just riding the bike as much as possible. So, in the last few months I sense that the starter is just not spinning as strong as it did decades ago....Time to replace, but I cant find any good sources. The original starter is marked as a Hitachi S108-35.

Bring on the leads and sources. Not trying to reinvent the wheel here.

Thanks,
Michael Morgan

On my 72, it was suggested that the earlier model starters were weak compared to later years and I could 'upgrade' by installing a starter from a later year. Didn't do it, cuz I'm kickstart only, but it was suggested... EGGSPURTS; whattya think?

I've heard the same, but came across an old 73-74? TX650 Cycle World (?) review that talks about crank twist problems on the 72-73 (?), and reports that Yamaha 'downgraded' the starter to prevent that.
So, there's your mystery...