1976 xs650 by summertime?

VVLynden

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey folks, first time posting and have recently been lurking. I owned a 1979 xs650 Special a long time ago and recently came into posession of a 1976 xs650. The PO said it 'ran before being put into storage' so I will take for what it's worth, which at this point isn't a whole lot. It does appear it was in covered storage though. Let me also state that I am not a COMPLETE novice at mechanical things, but I am also very new to working on things my own.

So on to the questions and comments. I took the gas tank off and there was a light dusting of rust inside, no big chunks or anything too scary. After scouring the threads here on rust removal I went for CLR initially and mixed it with water, poured it in the tank and let it sit for a couple days. It seemed to clean it out pretty well but not perfectly so I opted for another route which was Apple Cider Vinegar. This seemed to take care of any remaining rust. I read that to stop the chemical reactions to use baking soda with water, so I did and sloshed it around the tank then blasted everything out with a pressure washer, dried it with a hairdrier and called it good. I put a bit of gasoline in their and sloshed that around as well.

My question about this whole process is: Do I absolutely need to use a tank sealer. I have a can of redkote but frankly, due to my lack of knowledge about this stuff, it scares me. I have no respirator and really my only option would be to do it outside my garage. Am I asking for more rust if I leave the tank as is?

I took the carbs apart and cleaned them, which I felt was a great learning experience and kind of took the edge off of the uknown. The carbs were surprisingly clean compared to other photos folks have shared on the forum so I felt lucky. As far as I know they are mikuni bs38's and in pretty good condition. I reassembled them and put them back on the bike.