1978 XS650 Electrical Rebuild

VladTheDrumpaler

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Before I start, I'd like to thank everybody that has already helped me get this bike going. I'm learning each day and I feel like I understand the general flow of the system for these bikes. I am a 120/208 single/triple phase electrician by trade, but my knowledge of electrical systems for motorcycles is certainly lacking to say the least. It's been a long couple of weeks working on this bike and I forget basic protocol all the time. I normally write stuff down so I don't forget the broad strokes. It's been several years since I have gone pube deep in a bike so feel free to speak to me like I know nothing. I'll be as descriptive as I can and post plenty of pictures of everything that is currently on the bike.

I've looked over this sticky, http://www.xs650.com/threads/9625, and educated myself on the stock electrical flow. My bike has been torn apart and the stock harness no longer exists. I have an XS Charge regulator and I need some assistance in verifying its proper install. It was installed by the PO and I feel like I need to double check the wiring. I've found quite a few anomalies across the rest of the bike so I don't really trust this build. The regulator doesn't really have any identifying marks or part numbers on it so I have no way of knowing what it is or if it is even correct.