1980 Engine Top End Rebuild

JTD1989

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to participating in the forum, but I have had my XS for about 4 years and have done a lot of research and learning on many of the great threads on here. I have very little mechanical experience, but I am learning a lot in this process.

I bought the bike several years ago and it ran rough but looked pretty. The PO was not the one who built it and had very limited knowledge to pass along about its history. I rode it for awhile and had some problems, cleaned the carbs and they got better, then one day she died on me and I couldn't get her to start back up by checking all of the easy obvious things. The PO had mentioned that when the bike was chopped they had done some engine rebuilding so I decided the best thing to do would be to open up at least the top end and see how messed up the engine is internally.

I have disconnected everything, pulled the engine, and taken it apart down to the case so far and will attach some pictures of my findings in the next post.
yamaha1.jpg
yamaha2.jpg

So I got the motor out
IMG-2537.jpg
IMG-2536.jpg
IMG-2539.jpg

And took off the head cover
IMG-2610.jpg

And I discovered some signs that something came loose at some point and was bouncing around in the space where the cam sits in between the cylinder head and head cover
IMG-2679.jpg
IMG-2680.jpg

but whatever it is has apparently already been removed and the damage has been repaired.

My first question for the members of the forum is: is there some kind of secret for getting the locating dowels on the engine bolts out of the head/head cover? I haven't tried cranking on them with pliers or anything because I don't want to scratch them or get them out of round, but they seem to be stuck. I wanted to remove them to flatten the mating surfaces.
IMG-2696.jpg