1980 xs650 cutting out half throttle

Jake Violando

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
So I have a bobbed out 1980 xs650. Well it was running great till my safety relay shit the bed. So I jumped it out. Bike fires and idles fine. But at half throttle it is almost like a rev limiter, just bah bah bah bah. I am getting 12.8 v to the point of the rev limiter feeling. My rotor ohms out to 5.5 ohms. Cleaned my brushes. What am I forgetting?

Still running stock tci ignition? Im having same problem with my 80 with stock tci ignition. Opened up box to hopefully find obvious dead/burnt/broken diodes, but all looked good. Battery, rotor and carbs all check good. Got a pamco waiting on bench for install... pretty sure it will solve problem.

Let me add...
Tci circuits looked good, but im no professional. Pretty sure something has failed, but figured a pamco is a wise investment.
Your first test should be riding with reg/rect unplugged to see if symptoms disapppear. If they do, the magnet in rotor has lost some magnetism and needs new one glued atop it. Start there and report back

Let me add...
Tci circuits looked good, but im no professional. Pretty sure something has failed, but figured a pamco is a wise investment.
Your first test should be riding with reg/rect unplugged to see if symptoms disapppear. If they do, the magnet in rotor has lost some magnetism and needs new one glued atop it. Start there and report back
I did the test with a feeler gauge on the magnet on the stator cover. No magnetism. What size magnet should I glue on top off the old one?

Lots have recommended a magnet from radio shack, but it was hard to locate for me because almost all chicagoland stores have closed.
The size youre looking for is 3/16 diameter by about 1/8 thick.
Use jb welb and mind polarities.