Grimmith

Samurai
Reaction score
Hey guys, found a new xs650 to start up, everything works so far, except this leak from the carbs that's only happening where the fuel gets fed into the carbs. that "t shape" piece that lets fuel into both carb bowls. I'm new to the special. it's the red one on the cover of the manual, that's the special G right? I didn't get much info with the bike. But yeah, that piece between the carbs moves side to side a little bit, and leaks only from there. I couldn't find specs or a chart or even much in the manual about it. is it maybe a bad gasket seal inside?

You may need to loosen the brackets (top and bottom) that hold the carbs together as a "bank" and squeeze the carbs together a bit to tighten the fit on the "T" .....

e70CRqV.jpg

The "T" shouldn't be loose like that. You should barely be able to turn it.

Had a similar issue. Rather than forking over $20 to MikesXS for a new T, i just used short pieces of clear fuel line and compressed it into each end of the T. Worked great and leaks gone. Trim the fuel line down so it doesn't bind. I think there is a post in the Tech section on this.

Ok I'll try that first, and then I'll see if what 2xSive said will work before I even attempt what 5twins said. I feel I should take the smaller simpler steps before I do anything drastic.

e70CRqV.jpg

right when I start....the first Issue I came across was not being able to get the 4 screws holding on the mounting bracket...they wont even budge. I've tried liquid wrench, let it set and even tapped around all 4 screws lightly with small metal hammer to sort of knock it loose, later today I will try the knocker' loose spray. Any other suggestions?

IMHO don't do the bar clamp trick. heat on the bracket screws, hand impact, and sometimes not even then, strong thread lock on them.
wintergreen often works on the tee. Yes fuel helps swell the rubber.