1980 xs650 stock engine

solidstateirons

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hello,

Im pretty new when it comes to EVERYTHING, i have some knowledge here and there but im learning as i go. Anyways, my point here is, i just got a project bike with a full stock engine and i want to run this bike without a battery, so i was reading that i would need a PMA KIT and a PAMCO IGNITION SYSTEM, so i checked where those things ate located and as i mentioned before, the stator is stock BUT when i checked the Ignition system, there are no points, no rod, empty. So im guessing this person removed the ignition system for another build which i guess its "okay" since im thinking on replacing everything. So here are my questions.
Where should i start? I know i just want to run the bike with no battery, a headlight and rear brake light and rear turn signals, maybe front ones too. I dont want an ignition key since im thinking of machining a removable kick start but that comes eventually.

I just want to know how to start and what steps to follow to have the engine running with the pma kit and the pamco ignition system.

Thanks a lotttt in advance!

Hi solidstateirons,
OK, nobody robbed the points etc. off your engine because 1980 and newer bikes didn't have them in the first place.
They had a TCI (Transistor Controlled Ignition) system in it's place.
To work, the bike needs the Rotor with a small trigger magnet in it, the Stator with an ignition signal pickup on it, the TCI itself and a single coil with two plugwires plus the appropriate wiring. And oh yes, it'll need a battery.
Best you check how much of this stuff is still on your project bike before you start throwing money at it.

Hi solidstateirons,
OK, nobody robbed the points etc. off your engine because 1980 and newer bikes didn't have them in the first place.
They had a TCI (Transistor Controlled Ignition) system in it's place.