1980 Yamaha XS650 oil leak and electrical issue (with video explaining)

JaxShane650

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Video showing and better explaining issues -
Hello, this is my first post on this forum and I hope y'all can help me out with this one. I have recently acquired a 1980 Yamaha XS650 that was not in too bad of shape. I'm new to motorcycles and never worked on one before, but I have experience working on cars, small engines, etc. The motorcycle had been sitting in a barn for some years and was supposedly rebuilt and restored before it was put away. I have been going through this motorcycle trying to get it road worthy and somewhat restored and have run into a few issues. The fist one, which is the more major problem, is that there is a pretty good oil leak coming from somewhere by the front sprocket. It is causing a good amount of oil to come out at times and has me concerned. The second issue is a electrical related one having to do with the blinkers. I get the left side blinkers to work flawlessly, but when I switch to the right side blinkers the rear one will blink fine (sometimes) and the front one will not blink at all. I have already changed out the blinker relay and changed out all the bulbs out for good ones. I feel like it is a grounding issue, but have no clue where else to look or if that is even the problem. Any Ideas or troubleshooting things I could do would be much appreciated!
One more thing I almost forgot, is it normal for an XS650 not to be able to shift into neutral while running, but be able to shift into neutral while not running just fine?