1984 Heritage Special gas tank removal/reinstallation

Steveie88

Noob
Reaction score
Hey guys, full disclosure I am a total noob to owning a bike and being a member on this site. I purchased the bike last summer with 9,800mi, and immediately took it to a shop to have a pro look it over to make sure it was safe and street worthy. I got a full summer in of riding last year and then put the bike into storage for the winter (I would fire it up every two weeks or so, and then remove the battery for recharging).
Anyway about a month ago while I was visiting the storage facility to once again let her run a little, I noticed some fuel dripping from around the petcock. Upon further inspection I found the fuel coming from the gas tank itself and saw what appears to be some previously applied JB Weld or similar product in the same spot where the leak was coming from.
So I want to remove the gas tank to properly fix the issue. My question is with the fuel and vacuum lines. Can I just simply disconnect them and remove the tank, and then reconnect them after the repairs? Or is their some specific procedures to properly reinstall the vacuum line to get it to draw fuel again? I am in no way a gear head or mechanic, but I do have a general knowledge and interest in mechanics. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also if anyone has any recommendations for any other maintenance task i should complete while the tank is off, I would most certainly welcome the advice. Thanks again.

Plug and play my xs is my 1st street bike, you can't mess up on that job. You said it disconnect hoses and put back when done. I have a vacuum petcock which works great. If it's definitely not the petcok leaking I'd reuse it. Maybe it's a petcok to tank gasket.
Welcome
With a manual and a few tools you can do allot as a beginner.