'75 xs bike and box o' parts

SteelSmoke

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody,
Looking for some help. I came across a 75 xs for a bargain. The bike was stripped for a project that never really got under way, but the parts had all been boxed up. So, for $80 I bought the bike.
This is my first project bike. I have tools, and I like wrenching an all but I'm kinda lost on where to begin with this thing.
The bike has been stripped to the frame, all wiring removed. I know the motor has compression but aside from that I know nothing on the condition of the motor. The previous owner told me he put the bike into storage about ten years ago.
Do you guys advise me cracking the motor open for an inspection?
Should I just try to wire it simply to try and fire it up?-what would I need to wire up to turn her over?
I am planning on removing the carbs and giving them a good cleaning, but after that I am open to suggestions.
Thanks in advance,
-mike

Welcome SS - it sounds like you've scored with that '75! There is tons of engine expertise here but my first suggestion is that get yourself a manual. They are available free for downloading and are well worth the effort.

Cheers,

Pete

Last edited:
Welcome SS - it sounds like you've scored with '75! There is tons of engine expertise here but my first suggestion is that get yourself a manual. They are available free for downloading and are well worth the effort.

Here's the one you need, right here. And welcome to the club. I have a '75 myself.

Not all of this is applicable to you, since most of yours is in a box, but this is a good guide to assessing the condition of your find.

There was another very useful post about waking up an old bike, but I can't find it right now.

Hi everybody,
Looking for some help. I came across a 75 xs for a bargain. The bike was stripped for a project that never really got under way, but the parts had all been boxed up. So, for $80 I bought the bike.