'79 XS650 Special Low-Effort Resto

BSAKat

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey there! Back in the before times (last year) I picked up a long-abandoned '78 SE model that was in pretty sad shape. Here it is the day I brought it home.

jYpjUL1.jpg

I finally dug into it this weekend and the carbs are a disaster. Carb #2 is completely seized up, packed full of filth and dried out varnish. Carb #1's float bowl has about a half-inch of ancient gas that turned into tar-like varnish and gummed everything up. It's pretty gross in there.

I'm not new to working on old motorcycles (or even old Yamahas, I've had an XS850 for 20 years), but I am new to XS650s. When sourcing carb parts for this thing, what should I watch out for? Any obscure variations between model years I should be aware of?

Also, if you're curious, my plan for this thing is to get it running, add it to my fleet, and ride it until I find an early-70s 650 (which is what I really want). Gonna leave it stock and just ride it as a survivor.

First off, welcome to the madhouse; we're always glad to see another inmate!

After maintaining that triple for so long, I'm sure you already know to beware of generic rebuild kits with bits that may or may not be correct for your application, and Chiwanese jets, floats, etc. that may or may not be well made. You'll be ahead on time and money if you use genuine Mikuni parts; Niche Cycle Supply has most of the needful stuff at a reasonable price.

Re. variations, 1978 and 1979 used redesigned BS38 carburetors. These vent through two holes leading from the upper rear corners of the float chamber in the carb body to the intake bell, rather than through a standpipe in the float bowl. You'll find quite a bit of detail the old XS650 Garage USA Carb Guide: go to the Tech section and click on the link. There are also links in the Tech section to free downloads of factory service and parts manuals.

Enjoy!