81 XS650 Bobber Build

ericsjeep

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I have been cruising the forum for a while now and figured its time to post something. My buddy Ketis (Member name. Check out his build too) bought an xs650, and told me what he planned to do to it. I thought it sounded cool so I did some research and found an xs of my own on craigslist. I am new to motorcycles, so this forum has been a huge help. This is a picture of the xs when I got it, a little tired looking lol.
4ntk.jpg

For parts I decided to go with an ardcore hardtail, tons of parts from tc bros, and other various xs dealers.
5n3w.jpg

It took 10 weeks to get the tail from ardcore, but I am glad I waited.

7zkf.jpg

Now for some progress pics.

Frame cut! No turning back.
2kny.jpg

Tail fitted.
0drj.jpg

My buddy welding the tail.

All welded.

Got it into a roller!
t8iu.jpg

Tank Mouted. Yes another sporty tank, but why not if it looks good?
u0qi.jpg

Soda Blasted the engine.
efvf.jpg

Welded up a custom exhaust with the TC Bros kit.
9mpz.jpg

Polished all the engine covers. And went crazy lol.
Before and after.
skc6.jpg

s93o.jpg

Wrapped the exhaust with 2" Black header wrap.
9t7y.jpg

Decided to paint the engine black and polish the fins. (I used Plastikote engine enamel, and it seems to hold up to gas really well.)
eayi.jpg

7miv.jpg

dpkk.jpg

ythq.jpg

Drilled the front rotor.
0p2c.jpg

gi3v.jpg

yfv2.jpg

Bags and seat mounted.
23eo.jpg

p9os.jpg

Engine in and tc bros forward controls mounted.
ocdq.jpg

r76q.jpg

Electronics tank and battery box mounted.
k3p7.jpg

Well that's it for now. Still trying to decide on the rear fender. Was thinking of the led sled Mohawk fender or the led sled fender with the flat top.

Hey ericsjeep! Welcome to the forum.Bike is looking great man.
Hey, ain't nothing wrong with a sporty tank IMO.:D
Your engine turned out good,I sure like the black out with polished bits look.
Did the paint give any trouble when you polished the fins?