81 XS650 garage build hardtailed old school

francocali

XS650 Member
Reaction score
2009 I picked up a 2000 Yamaha V-Star 650 then proceeded to chop it, nothing major but love the old school look so chop chop chop,

I noticed the xs650 Yamaha was was real popular and seemed to have a cult following and i could see why ...just a real sweet bike and Kick start ,,, thats old school...

I would look for xs650's on craigs list but guys asking top dollar for some hacked up bikes so continued to search every day...after about 2 months i found a 1981 xs650 in good shape for $950 so i called the guy and he said he had posted it about 30 mins ago...it was like 10 pm so i asked him what time he wakes up in the morning he said 8am i said i would be there at 7am, when i got there 7am he came out and his cell phone was ringing off the hook with people asking about the 1981 xs650 but too bad i had cash in hand so sold ! ! ! ...sweet...

I am new to building and new to carbs timing ignition stuff so i did lots of research and found this builder "daddy G" or Rich is his real name in my home state of New jersey...Rich welded a TC brothers hard tail on for me and did a few other things like the tc brothers foward controls, but most of all Rich gave me tons of real good real world advice which saved the build, i could not have finished the build if it were not for daddy g...so shout out to you Rich !

I started the build around june 1st and it took about 2 months, i had lots of problems, first off the tci ignition box went on me so i had to install a pamco ignition, (thanks to pamco pete for advice too),