About to purchase PAMCO ignition, but first, need some insight.

Pattymatts

XS650 Member
Reaction score
What's up guys. I have a chopped, kickstart only, 81', and I'm pretty sure the ignition is kaput. About a month ago I was about to go for a ride but it wouldn't start. I kicked it for about 45 minutes until my battery finally died and no joy. Buddy came over, tried push starting, still nothing. Was pissed off and in one last valiant effort to kick it, it fired right up. I was in shock so I stood there mouth open and puzzled for about 30 seconds, then I blipped the throttle and, as if someone hit the kill switch, just died. Would not start up after that. Pulled the carbs, they seemed fine, plus they were recently rebuilt. Finally got around to do some wiring troubleshooting today, now I'm no wiring expert, but all the results just didn't add up. Wasn't getting voltage to the plugs, the secondary winding was open (unless I was reading it wrong) and it seemed like something was shorted to ground but I couldn't find any exposed wires that would short out. Also, since my battery was dead for so long I purchased a new one. I grounded the plugs, kicked it just to see no spark, but when I flipped off my switch it sparked, did it every time. I found that really odd because I've never heard of that nor seen that before. Is that normal?