Am I running lean on new Mikuni VM TC Bros carbs?

1973 TX650 Chopper

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I'm a newb and I've learned a lot already on this forum and am really grateful. My 1973 TX650 is nearly finished as I just completed a pamco ignition upgrade along with new Mikuni VM roundslide 34mm performance carb kit by TC Bros. I have the bike running and have driven it a few times. I've set the timing and done everything else like cam chain tension and valve clearance.

I believe the bike is running lean according to the symptoms. It starts and runs somewhat normally but when I drive it, there is no power when just cruising along at a steady speed in the middle of the power band. The lower end of the power band seems mostly normal and if I push it hard in first or second gear through the middle, then when it gets to the top range of the power band it seems to really respond and take off with power. It's just sluggish and unresponsive in the middle power band range. From what I gather on the Mikuni carb PDFs I've found is that the needle may need to be adjusted to supply more fuel to the motor during half open throttle.

These are the brand new Mikuni carbs from TC Bros. I hate to start messing with them if it's possibly something else I'm overlooking. I thought these would be pre-adjusted to work well. I have the Mikes XS pod filters and open exhaust although it's a bit longer than the super short pipes. Is there anyone who has any insight or experience with this? Any help is appreciated as I'm so close to having this bike dialed in. Thanks again.