Am I the only one?

pamcopete

Ride.Enjoy.Life is Simple
Reaction score
I removed my rear wheel to have a new tire installed and I used this trick to reinstall it so I would not have to lift the heavy wheel onto the swing arm forks.

With the bike on the center stand, I placed a floor jack under the front of the engine as I would to service the front wheel and jacked it up until the swing arm forks were lined up with the center of the rear hub and just rolled the wheel forward to the swing arm forks and inserted the axle. Smart Huh? Huh??

With the bike on the center stand, I placed a floor jack under the front of the engine as I would to service the front wheel and jacked it up until the swing arm forks were lined up with the center of the rear hub and just rolled the wheel forward to the swing arm forks and inserted the axle. Smart Huh? Huh??

Hi pete,
sure it's smart. That's why we've all independently invented the procedure.
Back when I was a machine designer I was tasked to design a gadget to decontaminate hand tools that had picked up radioactive particles.
It being wasteful to use a $10 tool only once and stupid to spend $20 to decontaminate the tool by hand.
So I dreamed up a gadget that cleaned a whole bunch of tools remotely and proudly showed the design to my boss who said:-
"Congratulations, Fred! You have invented the dishwasher!"

OK. Trick #2. I leave a short piece of 1 X 2 on the garage floor. When I roll in with the bike, I drive over the piece and stop with the rear wheel on the wood. I get off the bike using the side stand and with the rear wheel just slightly raised it's like 100% easier to lift the bike up onto the center stand. Smart, huh?

thank you Pete :thumbsup:

Although I'm a 6 foot 18 stone chunk I have only once managed to put my bike on the centre stand ! I've nearly pulled my arms out of the sockets and fallen over the bike trying.