Battery is being overcharged..

BartBuddy28

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello folks, thanks to a fellow member of this site i was able to install and wire a mixesxs PMA kit, and Pamco advance setup on my 81 xs....after installing, i checked my battery to see how my charging system was working now...at idle, (1200-1400 just a guess), my battery was at 14.9 volts, when rpm's were increased to around 4k-5k, the battery voltage went up to just over 15volts.....i am a car mechanic not a bike mechanic, and i know a battery is supposed to charge at 14.3 when idling..my question is, how much trouble am i going to be in riding my bike at this stage, and what can i do to correct this. Additionally i noticed that my headlight no longer works...i read a thread about putting in a momentary switch from my battery to the "yellow wire" from the original harness that connect to the factory stator case...will this work, or should i just give up on riding altogether lol.....thanks in advance!!

Unplug the regulator and check the voltage on idle and revved. Plug it back in and see if it changes, if it does you'll know the culprit.