BearDad's New Project

BearDad

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a relatively new member to the forum, having pretty much just lurked around while considering the leap I have just taken. I have just purchased the following from a local custom builder:

• 1979 frame, partially chopped, with front end, wheels, and misc. body parts
  • 1979 engine in multiple pieces (serial number matches VIN on above frame), cyls bored out to 0.50, brand new pistons and rings still in packages
  • 1973 frame, relatively whole
  • 19?? "junk" engine for extra parts

The guy that sold all this to me ($400 -- good deal or am I a fool?) said he has too many projects in the works and needed to clean house a little. He insisted all the parts are there to build a complete engine, minus the pipes and a couple of gaskets. I'm excited to get this started, but also realize it will take me a while as I have never done anything like this before. I have already found some of the information on this forum to be invaluable (identifying the year based on the serial number, for example), and will no doubt be asking questions from time to time.

And speaking of questions, what is the general consensus on service/repair manuals? Is Clymer better than Haynes, or vice versa? Or are they about the same.

Thanks all!

Not a bad deal, not a good deal unless the 1979 frame has a title. Then it would be an alright deal. I don't like buying engines in pieces because any little missing pieces can add up quick.