Better drivers

tx650

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I think that a motorcyclist driving a car is a better driver in a way that we are more aware of our surroundings especially motorcycles...Does anyone agree with me?

I've believed for a long time that people should have to ride on a bike in traffic, and ride in a big truck (maybe even drive it) before they get their license. Too many people take for granted their little cocoons that almost drive themselves.
If they had a ride on or in some other vehicles it might change their attitude towards sharing the road.

I've believed for a long time that people should have to ride on a bike in traffic, and ride in a big truck (maybe even drive it) before they get their license. Too many people take for granted their little cocoons that almost drive themselves.
If they had a ride on or in some other vehicles it might change their attitude towards sharing the road.

Sometimes

Yep. I started riding as a kid, had a few encounters, and for the last 46 years, I've assumed every vehicle I see is going to pull out, turn in front etc. I think it makes one a much more defensive driver, courteous as well. I try to make eye contact at intersections etc.

John

Yep. I started riding as a kid, had a few encounters, and for the last 46 years, I've assumed every vehicle I see is going to pull out, turn in front etc. I think it makes one a much more defensive driver, courteous as well. I try to make eye contact at intersections etc.

John

Yep very true and there was definitely eye contact when this Bitch pulled out on me when I was riding 2 up on my Harley.After taking drastic measures to avoid a crash with her monster 4 x4 I let her have a piece of my mind when I caught up with her while she just carried on blissfully ignorant.So my moral of the story is Don't always expect them to stop for you even if they do make eye contact.