Better than Bondo?

Wingedwheel

If it wasn’t broke before, let me try it…
Top Contributor
Reaction score
Read an article and watched a vid about a fix aviation guys are supposedly using for chips on propellors and flaps. The ingredients are Cyanoacrylate (super glue) and Sodium Bicarbonate (baking soda). You fill the chipped area with the super glue and sprinkle a liberal amount of baking soda over the puddle, covering it completely. it pretty much dries instantly into a sand-able hard substance. I actually tried a small test piece and it worked, might be a good fix for chips and side-covers and and other small paintable repairs.

Last edited:
The ingredients are Cyanoacrylate (super glue) and Sodium Bicarbonate (baking soda).
Us R/C model airplane guys have been doin this for years. It does indeed work great!

I was going to post a link but if you go to you-tube and type in super glue and baking soda there are dozens to choose from.

I am a luthier, repair violins. This has been done on violin nuts for a long time now, where the strings have worn away the wood, causing the string to be too close to the fingerboard. I prefer to carve and fit a new nut. My bridges, saddles and nuts are like my signature on the instrument.

Damping parts with water will also make a better superglue repair.

Scott

Us R/C model airplane guys have been doin this for years. It does indeed work great!

Yup - I was just going to say that this type of repair is done all the time on RC aircraft. The result is very hard but it can be sanded and does't seem to ever crack or flake off.

Last edited:
Sorry Scott, that part of the post sounded funny....:)

I expected that, still, I am very proud of my nuts, they are a wonder to see. They definitely are one of a kind. I have been complimented on my nuts but have never won an award for them. They do stand out, compared to other luthier's nuts. I can do them in ebony or bone.

Scott