Bobber Build by a total Newb

dilbone

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Well,

It all started a few weeks ago when my wife and I were having a conversation about something we might like to have if money wasn't an issue...I couldn't think of anything at all. I feel like I have just about everything a guy could ask for...then this thought popped into my head...yeah that's it..."I would want to have a bobber!!"

After this conversation I started searching bobbers online and found this AWESOME site in the process. I began scouring craigslist adds and quickly saw I didn't have the money for a finished or nearly finished bobber out there...that and there were a bunch of horrible looking bikes out there guys were passing off as "bobbers."

At this point I decided I'd try to find a project bike and build it like I wanted it as funds were available. I finally found an '82 heritage and a '78 special rolling chassis with 3 motors(one with cracked cases), all the stock parts, and an extra set of mag wheels/tires with forks. It was a package deal and he wouldn't separate anything. Only the '82 had a title and the '78 had a bill of sale(which apparently means nothing here in Ohio). Long story short, the guy I bought it off of from Michigan did a bunch of leg work to title it in Michigan so I could actually get it titled here in Ohio. So now I've got 2 full bikes with the extra set of wheels among some other parts for $1070.

I'm keeping the '82 heritage for my bobber build and I'll probably be selling the '78 once I get the title in hand...and keep the motor with cracked cases for spare parts or a rebuild with another set of cases.

Anyway, sorry for the extra long intro. This will be my first attempt at this level of fabrication, so it's probably gonna be a bumpy ride with lots of questions.

Here are the start up pics:
image.jpg

image-6.jpg

and I needed a build table with some scrap wood
image-1.jpg

Looks like I've got a lot of work ahead of me
image-2.jpg