Bobber front brake install

hans-eier

bobber Newbie
Reaction score
Hey guys

Just picked up this 76 bobber beauty. Any ideas how I can add a frontbrake? The guy who put it together grinded all the attachments on the fork off. So I need everything (fork, wheel, disc, caliper...) It's a 19" front wheel

Any cheap and easy suggestions? Something plug and play would be nice. Maybe without changing the triples
All the threads I found weren't really helpful to me since I'm a complete newbie to the xs

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    273.8 KB · Views: 414
  • b.jpg
    b.jpg
    143.3 KB · Views: 384
Welcome,

Check to see if the forktubes are the 74-76 34mm tubes. If they are then look for a set of 34mm forks that have rusty inners and swap the inners from your bike to the new outers. The rotor you buy has to suit the fork, 34mm fork rotors have a different off set compared to the 77 and later 35mm fork rotors.

The front hub on the 73-81 spoke wheel XS650, takes both the 34mm rotor and 77 and later rotor.

74/75 34mm forks have the caliper mount lugs on the front of the forks and the 76 had the mounts on the rear. Check out the pics in the Garage sticky ID thread.

Hi hans and welcome,
how cheap? Least cost is middle-east bicycle rider style, hold your sandal sole against the front tire.
Foolishness aside, do what Skull sez and measure the fork tube diameter then put a want ad in this list's parts for sale forum for the appropriate brake parts and replacement fork lowers. If you don't want to get into a fork rebuild, get assembled forks instead, the fork tubes will fit into the existing 'trees no problem.
I'd get a front fender, too.
Looking cool is good but seeing where you are going on a wet road is better.