bogging/backfire

cobrasneverdie

el guapo
Reaction score
Good day fellas, I have finally got my bike running. I've been riding it for a few days. I have owned the bike for a year. I am a student so money kind of slows me down in terms of parts and rebuilding things, that coupled with lack of knowledge and lack of garage. Anyways I don't know much about how well this bike is supposed to sound and ride. I definitely know that I need to tweak things here and there.

So this has happened twice already, sometimes the bike backfires, sometimes it's boggy. This morning was slightly cold, I fired it up. Usually takes me 2 kicks to get her going, took a while. I was about halfway to work when it died on me. It was boggy started to putt. I waited a little bit, kicked it and it ran. I headed to a gas thinking maybe I'm running out of gas but something tells me it wasn't the case. But What I'm going to do is check my cam tensioner, valve clearance, check my advance rod, and check the carbs.

Sometimes I get around riding and there are no problems.

*additional information:
ignition: pamco, coil: green monster, pma
I installed a rebuild kit on the carb last year. Never got around to checking bowl clearence (a friend of mine helped me put it together, he said don't worry about it as he eye balled it, I am worried now). I also have not checked the slide jet needle
I also have not performed a proper compression test yet.

If you installed rebuild kits in your carbs that included needles and jets, that may be the cause of your problems. The kits usually contain incorrect jet sizes and the wrong needle. Put the stock jets and needle back in. Stock sizes for your '76 carbs would be a 122.5 main, 25 pilot, and a 4M1 needle set in the middle or #3 slot. I think the rebuild kit for your carbs comes with 135 mains, 27.5 pilots and a generic Y-22 needle that is several MM too short (which would make it way too rich).

hey 5twins,