Building a Backyard Paint Booth

CrabbyCustoms

XS650 Addict
XS650.com Supporter
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Over the last few months I've researched and built a small paint booth in my backyard so I just wanted to post a quick explanation of how I did it. In my pursuit to learn to restore a motorcycle I've decided that I wanted to perform all aspects of the restoration myself, including the painting. So I preface this by saying that I'm not a professional and before building this booth I had never even painted anything.

I had searched the internet and Youtube for ideas on how to build a backyard paint booth and found very few effective solutions so this what I came up with. I'm sure there are better solutions so feel free to comment on my results.

I started by building an 11X6 ft. shed, my only criteria was that I would be able to rotate a motorcycle frame 360 degrees within the the shed.
1.jpg

2.jpg

I decided on creating a cross draft negative pressure booth. My plan was to cut intake vents in one side and placing exhaust fans on the other side so that I would paint in only one direction with the air moving across the booth.

I started by building frames from aluminum purchased at my local metal supplier for the intake vents.
3.jpeg

3b.jpg

At first I was going to use regular furnace filters for the intake but later switched to proper paint booth intake filters. I chose 16X24 as a standard size.
I Cut holes in the side of the shed and mounted the frames to the exterior.
3c.jpg
I used bolts and butterfly nuts to keep one side accessible for sliding the filters in and out.

For lighting I purchased 2 vapour proof LED receptacles ($100 each).
3d.jpg

I wired them to a male extension cord and ran the cord out of the shed.