Butterfly Shaft Seal diagnosis

Capt_Zoom

Raider Rider/xs newbie
Reaction score
OK, Can someone confirm my suspicion that my butterfly shaft seals have gone bad.

Symptoms
-bike only runs at higher idle
-light carbon fouling on the plugs.
-Getting 38mpg

So when using starter spray
-into the intake the bike dies (should it rev up?)(maybe I'm already running too rich?)
-onto the outer butterfly shaft seal area...bike dies
-onto the inner butterfly shaft seal area...nothing happens.
-around the carb boots and carb boot nipples....nothing happens.

To me this seems like I need new butterfly shaft seals.

Does anyone know if you can replace the outer one's without removing the shaft and butterflies?

Last...how long does this process usually take? I've read as little as 30min but I've never done it before. Hell if its only 30 min I might just have the dealer do it.

Thanks for any answers or suggestions.

Leaky seals will cause a lean condition.

You pretty much have to separate the carbs and remove the shafts to get all the seals.
Depends on which carbs you have but;

I think the LH outer can be done on the bike even, but what's the sense in replacing just one of 4 seals?
Check shaft side play not in and out but up and down. If the shafts are loose even new seals will be a temporary fix. Don't see worn body/shaft here too often, but I think it's common on high mile bikes in dry sandy areas.

One more thing to check. On the 'suspect' seal, wiggle the throttle shaft, look for wallowed-out fit of throttle shaft to carb body throttle-shaft hole. If too loose, the seal may be a short term fix...

Haha, gggGary beat me to this, must be taking his vitamins...

Will definitely be buying OEM seals on Monday.

If its already lean should starter fluid cause an increase in RPM?