Buy whole bike? or buy Parts?

CMCPA

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

my name is Chris, I'm from PA

I'm very new to all this, but I'm starting to plan out an xs project.

I just wanted some opinions on weather i should find a bike cheap ($200-$800)
And/ or, is it worth spending more like ( $1000-$1200) on something that looks like its in good condition?

I sort of planned on buying a frame instead of chopping the stock one up, even tho it may be cheaper, i just do think i have the resources to weld or find someone to.
I will have some help with the build. My friend owns and runs the Harley shop in our town.

Iv'e been finding parts like an Engine and cams for like ($400)
Would it be better if i just pieced it out? Or just get a whole bike and start there?

:confused:

welcome. I think it's usually cheaper in the long run to buy a complete bike to start with and sell the stuff you don't need. that probably depends on how ambitious the build is though.

Posted via Mobile

Okay great, thank you Travis

Ive been hunting around for one but i keep seeing prices closer to $800 - $1000

I'm really trying to get one around $500 or less

The 500 and less days sadly seem to be over. There are still lucky finds every so often though.

That makes sense James, I've been hunting on Craigslist for a couple weeks now and its all 700 - 800 and up.

Which is not a problem, I'm just so eager to start this project but no body seems to be getting back to me from the craigslist ads and i really don't want to buy one off ebay.

Regardless, I'm just venting haha. I'm hoping I pick one up before November

I don't mean to Hi-Jack but I found a "fully restored" xs on CL for 4600 bucks! Is it just me or is this guy crazy asking that much? I also found a very well cared for one that looked the same as far as fit and finish for 1200. Just wondering if this guy can really expect to get 4600 for this bike.