delete this

ron bayless

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I am supposed to be meeting the guy at 2pm to buy the bike.I dont know what year it is,it looks complete in the pictures.No title.it appears to have been in storage for 20 years.its covered in dust.Looks like a kickstart version.I am just learning about these bikes.I am so anxious to tear into it.I worked on 3 cb650s,one gs1000,3 78 goldwings.All way different than this bike.I have my own recipe for loosening up the motor.I hope it isnt seized.I have had a por15 tank treatment kit just gathering dust so now will get to use it.I will let you guys see how it goes.

Ron,
Congratulations on your find ! Here in the republik of New York State (anyways), anything before 1973 doesn't require a title. Titles are a real birch to acquire if you can't get one from the P.O. That said, check the pull-down tabs at the top of the page and you'll find articles like "Guide to Buying", "Identifying your Xs650, VIN numbers", and "Xs650 Identification/Year/VIN, Workshop manuals & other information". This info will help you figure out what you're looking at.
When I got my '75 basket case, I thought the motor was seized. It had been holding up the side of a shed for so long, uncovered, that the generator stator and rotor had corroded to the point where they had "glued" themselves together. Once freed, the engine spun fine. These motors are only slightly more complicated than a lawn mower engine, and almost always can't not run. Yup, they're that hard to kill.
So, welcome to the sight, print out some of this info to take with you when you check out the bike, good luck, and take lots of pictures to post ! We're a bunch of nosy buggers here, and love to see pictures !

Welcome. All xs650s had a kicker. Yama designed in a starter in 72, also first year of front disk break