Carb problems heeeelp!

willyt

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi guys I am new to the xs650 owners elite.
I have just got me an xs650 1978. I have taken it for one ride and prior to this I had a fiddle with the fuel shutoff valve under the tank just to familiarise myself before potentially running out of fuel.
Anyway when I got back fuel was leaking out of the carb (pouring out) and I have pulled the float chamber off and the float seems to be working ok, wasnt leaking when off the bike but put it back on and leaking again. I am assuming this cannot have anything to do with the shut off valve. Fuel is only leaking from left carb, looks to be coming out the pilot tube. they are Keihin CVK carbs.

Any ideas? think my next step will be to strip and clean carbs and reassemble and see what happens.

Also I have seen mikuni conversion kits, wondering if its a good investment and where the best deals are.

Any help would be appreciated

welcome willy.
Sounds like the float needle valve in the float chamber is not shutting off properly. if they are not used frequently the valves can become sticky with gas /petrol additive residues .
It occasionally happens to mine when it hasn't been run for a few weeks and usually a sharp blow to the fuel bowl usually does the trick in dislodging a stuck float needle .

The carbs probably could benefit from complete overhaul and clean but to be honest that could intoduce a whole host of new problems. If it persists you can remove the float needle and needle valve seat to clean or replace them without removing the carbs although it will be awkward obviously and you won't be able to set the float height without removing and inverting the carbs