Carburetor diaphragm good or bad? 82 Heritage Special

Borracho

XS650 Noob
Reaction score
I need some help determining if one of my carburetor diaphragms is still good to go or trash. I'm thinking the latter but maybe not. I pulled off the cap and noticed that the diaphragm was not inserted correctly the last time I took the carbs apart. As a result one of the edges was flattened by the cover as shown in the pics below. I know, total noob blunder. But hey, one learns from his mistakes. If it is trash, has anyone had luck with the replacements sold by jbmindustries.com? Beats the hell out of paying $100 for the whole slide assembly from mikesxs.net. Just not sure how well they would work or how easy the install is.

By the way, what caused me to initially take apart and investigate the carb was an excess of oil I found inside the air box and carbs. I recently had the oil changed and from everything I read on this topic is that there was probably too much oil added which in turn caused an overflow from the breather valve into the air box which eventually made it to the carbs. If someone has a different opinion as to where the oil may have come from, I'd like to hear it. I'll take all the help I can get. I've been unable to get this bike to run properly for over 4 months now and I'm missing all the best riding weather here in Austin, TX. As soon as I take the bike off choke she dies. This is the most recent problem I encountered and wonder if it has anything to do with the diaphragm issue.
Image 1.jpg

Image 2.jpg

Yes, if you put too much oil in the engine, the extra will blow out the breather. In fact Yamaha recommended only filling these bikes midway between the high and low mark, not all the way up to that top line on the dip stick.

Quick answer: I think your diaphragm is good. If you want the long answer, call me. I will PM you my phone number.