Clutch isn't engaging, taillight is... Weird

Stretch78

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, basic noob here. Had my 78 xs650 chopper for a few months now and have had constant issues. Most pressing being the guy I got it from didn't tell me the alternator rotor was basically just a big rock. So yesterday I got a new rotor, pulled off the LHC, and replaced it, easy peasy lemon squeezy right? Well you'd be wrong to think I can fix something without more things going wrong
After waiting 24hrs for my sealant to cure I came back and kicked it over, sounded like it was running on one cylinder and was getting cold air out of the right side so I pulled my VM34 carbs, cleaned the hell out of them, bench synced them, andthrew em back on, stuck in new spark plugs and kicked it over. Ran well with a little adjustment to idle speed. Once it warmed up I brought it outside to take it around the block and when I pulled my clutch lever and kicked it into first...
*LURCH. STALL* well crap what happened? I pulled the LHC off again and I have no idea what I'm trying to look for, I clean everything well, throw the cover back on without the gasket or sealant just to test it and still nothing, I've adjusted the clutch lever everywhere and nothing. I need wisdom. Please help!
Also, taillight isn't wanting to work while the headlight is on, I have one button under the seat that turns the bike on, with the taillight grounded to the license plate mount which is welded to the frame and the hot wire for the taillight splits into 2, one side goes up to the power button which is also wired to a switch where I turn my headlight to "on/off/bright" then the other half runs with the hot wire to the brake light back to my brake light switch which is mounted to the rear break link. I'm confused in many ways. Sorry for this novel

Stretch78, it isn't uncommon for the ball bearing in the clutch worm to fall out and mysteriously disappear. Do a forum search on "clutch ball" to see many stories...