Clutch push rods - 2 short vs 1 long

79josh81

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
So assuming that this video...

...explains similarly how an xs650 clutch works, what was the purpose of Yamaha having 2 shorter push rods vs the earlier models having 1 long push rod?

Also, if I wanted to swap a long push rod into my 79’ xs650, how do I remove the shorter inner stock push rod? (I’m still learning so be gentle or I’ll have to retreat to my safe space)

I don't know why Yamaha made the change. Many of their other models use just one long push rod, the 650 did too at first. However, the older 650 long rod was steel. The longer rod of the 2 piece replacement is bi-metal (aluminum with steel end caps). Theoretically, this should expand closer to the same amount as the alloy cases compared to the all steel rod. These different expansion rates between the rods and the cases can be an issue on the 650. Because of it, the hand lever develops lots more freeplay when the bike gets hot, sometimes enough not to disengage the clutch enough. It drags slightly causing hard shifting and the notorious hard-to-find-neutral syndrome that many of these bikes suffer from. But the differing rod construction isn't really an explanation for the switch. On most all of those other Yamaha models using one long rod, that rod is a bi-metal type. They could have made one long bi-metal rod for the 650 but didn't for some reason.

Many of us switch back to the long single push rod. It gives a bit better clutch action and seals much better into the case because it wobbles side to side less. Some have had luck with pulling the inner ball and rod through the seal with a magnet but I've never been able to. I always have to take the right side cover off, clutch pressure plate off, and push the parts out with another long rod of some sort.