coil or ignition unit?

bTw1226

bTw1226
Reaction score
Hi,
I am a pretty big rookie so bare with me but I have been reading all of these threads about ignition systems and I still cannot figure out what I should do. I have a 1983 xs 650 that will not get spark. Either my black box is bad or my coil is bad. I have tried two different black boxes and two different coils all with the same result.. Very small spark to the plugs but the spark is there, kind of like one of those pens that shock you.. What do I do to make my bike run? I just want to be able to kick start it so if the electronic ignition no longer works, that is fine. looking for the cheapest and easiest way to make her run so let me know if you have any ideas please.

Thanks a ton!
btw

Hi,
I am a pretty big rookie so bare with me but I have been reading all of these threads about ignition systems and I still cannot figure out what I should do. I have a 1983 xs 650 that will not get spark. Either my black box is bad or my coil is bad. I have tried two different black boxes and two different coils all with the same result.. Very small spark to the plugs but the spark is there, kind of like one of those pens that shock you.. What do I do to make my bike run? I just want to be able to kick start it so if the electronic ignition no longer works, that is fine. looking for the cheapest and easiest way to make her run so let me know if you have any ideas please.

Thanks a ton!
btw

The 82 and 83 years had that nasty Sidestand Relay. Its logic is controlled from the neutral switch and the sidestand switch. As a test for this problem of no spark, unplug the Sidestand Relay, as it may be disabling the TCI units.

do you need to bypass the sidestand relay or can you just disconnect it?

dennis, are you talking about a points system? my bike has no points but an ignition box in its place.