Complete Novice, First Build.

Tapps

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Just wanted to say hi.
This is my first ever build, with virtually no ''Wrenching" experience.
I picked up this 1979 XS650 that had been sitting for almost a decade. It came with the original title (Filled in by hand!) And I believe it was in original specs.
I took a while to decide if I wanted to restore or chop it. As she was untouched...but my bucket list was calling.
I had the TC Bros hardtail sitting on my bench for over 6 weeks, trying to pluck up courage to make that first cut.
I practiced welding, and then yesterday I finally cut it. (Because the guy that taught me welding, was going to be dropping in that day anyway, so he could sort out my screwups)

I followed the instructions that come with the frame, and it was cut when he got here.

In the end, I relented and let the professional weld it on for me. But now she sits, waiting for the next step.
I love forward controls, but this baby will also be raced in the dirt, so I'm sticking with mid controls.

I've seen some people use original mounts rewelded back on to the new hardtail. But I think it looks a bit cluttered for me.

I have no clue what goes back on. I'm simply looking at as many pics as I can. Then try to interpret what I've seen.

If you could please send many pics. Especially behind the carbs and under the seat....
I may go kick only, and not have a battery, or it has been suggested that I get a small lithium battery and hide it all in a dummy oil can....

I need pics, pics, pics!!!!

Thanks

Tapps

Attachments

• 20200621_141743.jpg
    20200621_141743.jpg
    233.7 KB · Views: 163
  • 20200621_181645.jpg
    20200621_181645.jpg
    168.5 KB · Views: 160
  • 20200621_181729.jpg
    20200621_181729.jpg
    210.1 KB · Views: 158
Hi Tapps,