Easiest Springer Front End Set-up???

xsgirl

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone...
Im a newbie to this forum...and after a bit of advice/help from all you more talented & experienced XS fans.
I would love to put a Springer front end on my xs, yes, I have read all I can find on this forum to do with this topic. But wanted to put it out there .... (again) :)

From your experience, what has been the easiest Springer Front End set-up available?

I do want to keep my front brakes, and would also love to keep the stock front wheel. I would love to hear what people have done that works well.

Buying...

I have been researching who sells Springers, etc.....But there are so many out there. Im sure there are some that work better, and probably better to buy from some places than others.

Just read your reply Ghetto ..... If using the DNA set-up, any idea if that would require a different front wheel, brake set-up?

I actually like the original XS Wheels, so if I have to swap wheels, I would love something similar to it, suits the look I'm after more than spoke wheels. :)

The DNA is setup for harley wheels, thats why it is easier to just run one instead of adapting a metric wheel to fit. It can be done though, but it may end up being an expensive project.

I think the easiest way to fit the stock wheel to a springer is to take the rocker off, take them to a machine shop. Have them make a set just like the ones off the springer, but have the axle hole drilled to match the stock axle.

You can convert the XS wheel to fit a harley axle to run the DNA setup. Saw it somewhere in the link I posted.

I couldn't see anything in that link about wheel bearings, Unless I'm mistaken - they were referring to 1" harley bearings that get the DNA springer to Fit the XS Head stem?