Electric Start Kills The Battery

jasonsed

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I'll start by saying that I'm new to the XS650 and motorcycles in general, but I'm doing my best to learn what's what. I thought I had things worked out and my 1976 XS650 running a few weeks ago, but now I'm having trouble with it again. I first thought it was the charging system, but today I measured the voltage at the battery at about 12.5 when off, 13.1 or so while idling, and then 14.1 or so at around 3000 RPM. Does this increase in voltage alone mean that my charging system is ok? I have found that when I try the electric start I will hear a click and then it seems like the battery gets really weak. My neutral light will dim or turn off completely and the electric start button will no longer respond at all. If I turn the key off and then back on sometimes I'll get a strong neutral light again and sometimes weak/nothing. Can anyone give me an idea of what I should check next based on this information or do you need more details? Thanks for any info!

Do you know how old the battery is? Charging looks about right, but battery could be weak. It should be okay to jump it with a car battery (car engine off) to check for that. If starter doesn't turn, don't keep doing it. I haven't heard of a starter locking up. They can fill with oil but will still turn slowly, with a good battery.

Check connections and wires, a common problem area is the ground strap from battery to frame. But bad connections can hide in many places. On the bigger wires remove the connector from the bolt, wiggle and pull on it a bit, any looseness or gray corrosion dust falling out means you need to replace connector or wire.