First build, Modern Cafe

dwallzee

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
What's up guys, I've been a member for about 6 now back when my XS obsession started. Anyway I figured I would share my build. I'm a professional motocross mechanic by trade but this will be my first street bike build. I have no welding of fab skills but I did just buy a new miller multimatic so this will be a learning experience. I picked up a 1977 and a 1981 as a package deal along with tons of stock parts. I originally planned to build both but after how much time and money I've already spent on this one I doubt I'll ever build the second but you never know. I started by stripping the engine down, cleaning and sandblasting everything (it was rough). The transmission was tumbled and polished and 5th gear o.d. was installed. The crank and cam was sent to Hugh to be rephrased and the cylinder was sent to hoos to be bored to match the JE 700 Pistons. I had the intake ports welded and I ported them to a D shape similar to Jacks. I epoxied the ports to run the D shape all the back to the bowls. I will be installing new stainless valves and springs as well as a 5 angle valve job. I powdercoated all of the engine parts myself but I will be outsourcing the bigger stuff. The engine will be reassembled with all new gaskets and seals, hughs PMA, pamco ignition and a hydraulic clutch. It will have hoos billet intakes with two Kehin 32mm FCR carbs. As far as I know no one has ran this carb setup so I'm serious to see how it runs. As for the chassis I'll be running a 2007 gsxr front end, r6 front calipers and stock mags powdercoated flat black with EBC rotors. I cut all of the stock tabs and brackets from the frame and ground them smooth which was no fun. I welded on a new rear loop to match my seat setup and tacked on a pan under the subframe to mount all of my electronics. I'll be running apex adjustable clip on bars, with hayabusa clutch and brake master cylinders I didn't was cheap switches so I got some Ya