first time start up issue's

jeepguy

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
ok so i got to the point where i wanted to try and kick over the engine installed 277 rephase pamco as the picture below shows but with two coils. i had all the grounds coming together then one attached to the frame. when i kick i get nothing. just sounds like i'm kicking over a bike with no electronics.. any ideas should i at least here some sort of attempt for the motor to crank?? also the battery i have everything hooked up to is a cheap lawn and garden battery with 145 cold cranking amps.

Attachments

• XS_pamcotest_2.jpg
    XS_pamcotest_2.jpg
    82 KB · Views: 66
I'm not a Pamco expert, but I'm 99.9% sure it will only work with a single, dual-tower coil.

Yeah, I shouldn't be answering 277 questions. But I do know that PamcoPete has a spark test that should work for you. I think it is on his site, or you can search the forums. From memory, the test goes like this: remove the nut holding the trigger disc on, remove the pin under the disc you just removed, and put the trigger disc back on. Now you can turn the trigger disc with your fingers. With things hooked up like in your pic, you should be able to hear the plugs firing -- a faint click -- as you turn the disc. Or you can pull and GROUND a plug, and watch for the spark.
If the test is good, you have a fuel problem.

I thought the rephase Pamco had a plate with 2 pick-ups (and 2 sets of wire leads) and used 2 separate coils?

jeepguy,

OK. Here is the test procedure that DogBunny was referring to only in your case do it twice:

Testing the coil:

1. Using the lowest scale on the meter, measure the resistance between the primary terminals with the wires removed. Should read from 2.5 to 4.5 Ohms.
2. Using the highest scale on the meter, measure between one of the primary terminals and the center core of the coil. Should be infinite resistance. (open)