From Spain with love

wheelamtnz

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
Hi you all! Im new in the xs game. i bought a 77 xs a couple of months ago it was owned by a german who lived in the north of spain. When I bought it have no spark and a couple of modifications like little speedometer and tach, boyer bransden ignition, car oil filter... After start it rode a bit of kilometers and a bad noise from the top of the engine appear. Take it all apart and booom no oil in the camshaft. Now all assembled again want to get a rancid chop like uk's triumphs in the 60's.
Thanxs in advance for everything Ive already learned!
IMG_0717.jpg

IMG_9904.jpg

IMG_9906.jpg

That's a beautiful machine, so here's a word to the wise: if you're going to make a "rancid chop," consider starting with a bike that's in poor cosmetic condition. You're going to change everything anyway, so why tear up something that's in fine shape?

Totally agree. Find a bashed up bike and do as you wish but don’t cut up a nice old Standard bike like that one.

Hi again! I’ve never heard the term “cocktail” exhaust. Do you have a photo of one?

Ahhhhh - I have seen that type of thing, but never heard them called that before.

Thanks!

Hi Pete,
we'd call 'em "cocktail shakers" and I don't think "rancid" is appropriate usage, perhaps "radical"?

I was going with the assumption that "rancid" was being used like "sick". Personally, I find describing something you like as "sick" is, well,...sick. :p

But then, I expect my parents felt the same way about "groovy" and "far out" so there's that...:laugh::shrug:

Indeed.

My Dad used to look at my afro-hairdo/birdsnest and scratch under his arms like a monkey and make oook-oook sounds (while my Mom quietly said under her breath - "Pick your battles Don, pick your battles. Nobody ever died of having long hair"). In the end, we got along great and now, I'd give my right one for just one more hour with him (or her).